Wednesday, May 22, 2024

IPL 2023: GT pacer Mohammed Shami gets ‘Purple Cap’

Ahmedabad (Gujarat), May 30 ( The Gujarat Titans (GT) fast bowler, Mohammed Shami, emerged as the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Despite GT’s loss to the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final at Ahmedabad on Monday, Shami’s outstanding performance earned him the coveted ‘Purple Cap.’

Mohammed Shami showcased his bowling prowess throughout the tournament, claiming an impressive total of 28 wickets in 17 matches. With an average of 18.64 and an economy rate of 8.03, Shami proved to be a formidable force on the field. His best bowling figures of 4/11 showcased his skill and contributed significantly to his team’s success. This IPL season stands as Shami’s most triumphant since his debut in 2013.

Expressing his delight upon receiving the ‘Purple Cap,’ Shami acknowledged the challenges of executing powerplay bowling. He emphasized the responsibility that comes with limited fielding options and credited his role within the team. Mohammed Shami emphasized that by consistently hitting the right areas, bowlers can reap the rewards, regardless of the format they are playing. However, in the final, Shami was relatively expensive, conceding 29 runs in three overs at an economy rate of 9.70.

Following Shami’s exceptional performance, GT’s Mohit Sharma secured the second position in the wicket-taking charts with 27 wickets in 14 matches. Mohit’s comeback in the IPL after a hiatus since 2020 and his last appearance for India in 2015 made his achievement even more remarkable. His wickets came at an impressive average of 13.37, accompanied by an economy rate of 8.17. Mohit’s best bowling spell of 5/10 displayed his skill and contribution to his team’s success.

Another noteworthy performer from GT was Afghanistan superstar Rashid Khan, who claimed 27 wickets in 17 matches. Rashid Khan’s bowling average stood at 20.44, with an economy rate of 8.23, and his best bowling spell included a hat-trick. His consistent performance demonstrated his value as a key player for GT throughout the IPL.

Piyush Chawla from the Mumbai Indians, who took 22 wickets, and Yuzvendra Chahal from the Rajasthan Royals, who took 21 wickets, were added to the list of remarkable bowlers. Both spinners had a memorable season. Piyush Chawla’s comeback to the IPL after missing out in 2022, and playing only one game in the 2021 edition, showcased his resilience. He emerged as a pivotal bowler for the Mumbai Indians in the absence of leading pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer. Yuzvendra Chahal made history by becoming the top wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League, having taken an impressive 187 wickets.

Shifting focus to the final match, GT witnessed a solid start from the opening partnership between Shubman Gill (39 runs off 20 balls) and Wriddhiman Saha. They provided a 67-run stand, setting a strong foundation for the team. Subsequently, Saha and Sai Sudarshan forged a 64-run partnership. Saha’s innings of 54 runs off 39 balls, which included five fours and a six, displayed his batting prowess.

Sai Sudarshan played a blazing knock, scoring 96 runs in just 47 balls. His aggressive innings comprised eight fours and six sixes, igniting GT’s innings. He collaborated with skipper Hardik Pandya to build an 81-run partnership for the third wicket. Hardik Pandya contributed 21 runs off 12 balls to the team’s total.

GT’s bowler Matheesha Pathirana impressed with his performance, taking 2/44 in his four overs. Deepak Chahar and Ravindra Jadeja from CSK also managed to pick up a wicket each, adding to the excitement of the game.

Unfortunately, rain interrupted the match, causing a delay. After the resumption, CSK faced a revised target of 171 runs in 15 overs. The CSK openers, Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad, set the tone for their team with a solid 74-run partnership for the first wicket. Conway played a blistering innings of 47 runs off 25 balls, while Gaikwad contributed 26 runs off 16 balls.

Despite quickfire contributions from Ajinkya Rahane, who scored 27 runs off 13 balls, and Ambati Rayadu, who added 19 runs off eight balls, GT’s bowler Mohit Sharma made a remarkable comeback with his tight bowling. He also dismissed CSK captain MS Dhoni for a golden duck, turning the match in GT’s favor.

With 13 runs needed in the final over, CSK’s Ravindra Jadeja played a match-winning shot, securing a four on the last ball and denying GT a victory. It was a thrilling finish to an intense match.

Mohit Sharma emerged as the standout bowler for GT, claiming 3/36 in his four overs. Noor Ahmed, another GT bowler, displayed an impressive performance, taking 2/17 with the ball.

Mohammed Shami’s exceptional performance earned him the ‘Purple Cap’ as the leading wicket-taker in the IPL 2023. GT’s bowlers, including Mohit Sharma and Rashid Khan, showcased their skills and contributed significantly to the team’s success. The final match between GT and CSK was a thrilling contest that saw impressive batting displays from both sides. Despite GT’s efforts, CSK emerged victorious with a brilliant performance from Ravindra Jadeja. The IPL 2023 season witnessed remarkable bowling performances and exciting matches, leaving fans eagerly awaiting the next edition.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles